Creamy Berry Smoothie

image

“If we’re not willing to settle for junk living, we certainly shouldn’t settle for junk food.” ~Sally Edwards

First of all, I have to thank my friend Rebecca for this recipe because she is the one who shared it with me! This is now my default smoothie recipe. It is so good that you really wouldn’t think it was so good for you too!

The first time I made this, I made it for myself…just to try it out. I was so surprised at the delicious berry taste, and the creaminess of it- even though it didn’t have any dairy in it! I didn’t taste the veggies at all…so I had to try it on my husband to see if he could tell. I told him I was making him a smoothie, and left out the part that there was spinach in it ;). I served it to him and waited for his reaction. He said that it was really good and asked what was in it. I said, “Well, what does it taste like is in it?” He said it just tasted like a blueberry smoothie! Yes! So I told him that it had avocado and spinach in it and he was really surprised. I have tried “green smoothies” on him several times in the past and he has said that he never wanted one again. However, this green smoothie is husband approved!

image

You can make this recipe with any berries. Pictured above is with strawberries, but I’ve also made it with blueberries- which so far is still my husband and I’s favorite, or you could even do a mix berry blend! Berries, especially blueberries, are a low calorie fruit that are very high in antioxidants. They are also said to help improve brain health and memory.

image

The avocado is the secret because it gives it the wonderful creamy texture. Avocados are also extremely beneficial. Avocados are actually considered to be the world’s healthiest fruit. They are packed full of the “good fats” as well as vitamin C, K, E, B6, potassium, dietary fiber, and folate. Avocados are very good for your heart. Not to mention, they are my all time favorite food!

If you grew up watching cartoons like Popeye the Sailorman, then you know that spinach is good for you! Like all dark greens, spinach is a great source of iron. It is also high in vitamins C, A, K, and calcium.

Enjoy this delicious and nutritious smoothie!

Berry Smoothie

10oz. of frozen organic berries (blueberries, strawberries or a mix)

1 cup water

half of an avocado

one handful of organic baby spinach leaves

liquid stevia to taste (for sweetness)

1. Put the avocado, frozen berries, and spinach in a blender. Add about a 1/2 cup of water. Blend. Add water as needed until desired thickness. Add a few drops of liquid stevia until desired sweetness. Enjoy!

Note- if you would rather use fresh berries, you just need to add ice!

One response

  1. Pingback: 30 Days of Detox | The Flexitarian Foodie

Leave a Reply

